The miracles of science™

Select Industry

Sponsored by the DuPont Spruance Plant

News Release

Chesterfield County, VA, February 14, 2013

Local Students Win Martin Luther King Jr. Essay and Drawing Contest

Twelve local students won cash prizes for their entries to the annual Martin Luther King Jr. Essay and Drawing Contest sponsored by the DuPont Spruance Plant.

The winners presented their winning entries at DuPont Spruance Plant’s 16th Annual Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration on Jan. 24, 2013.

The winners of the high school essay contest are:

  • 1st Place – Romontae Thornhill, George Wythe High School
  • 2nd Place – Quinteetia Delaney,  George Wythe High School
  • 3rd Place – (three-way tie) – Leidy Montiel-Lopez, Brandon Wilson, & Aaliyah Kilpatrick - George Wythe High School

The winners of the middle school essay contest are:

  • 1st Place – Akiera Jones, Boushall Middle School
  • 2nd Place – Kayla Jones, Falling Creek Middle School
  • 3rd Place – (two-way tie) – Maya Mangum – Falling Creek Middle Schools & Jessica Ramirez, Boushall Middle School

The winners of the elementary school drawing contest are:

  • 1st Place – Kendel Trinidad, Salem Church Elementary School
  • 2nd Place – Breeana Brown, Salem Church Elementary School
  • 3rd Place – Alejandra Ocampo, Bellwood Elementary School

Entries were submitted from area elementary, middle and high schools. All submissions were original works that matched the theme “A Day On – Not A Day Off – ‘What Is Your Contribution To The Dream’?”

Essay winners received money on behalf of their school and were invited to share their work with employees at the annual celebration. Drawing winners received cash awards and had their work displayed at the event.

Several of the DuPont essay and drawing winners attended the Spruance site's MLK Celebration event. In the front row are, left to right: Kendel Trinidad; Quinteetia Delaney; Jessica Ramirez; and Kayla Jones. In the back row, left to right, are: Amie McLain, anchor/reporter for WRIC-TV8 and guest judge for the contest; Maya Mangum; Akiera Jones; Romontae Thornhill; and Aaliyah Kilpatrick